Tigra iPhone bike mount review

Grab your iPhone and strap it to your handlebars. Suddenly, you’ve got GPS navigation and a bike computer all for the price of a bike mount. I’ve been a big advocate for this for a while and even wrote a piece about it for Cycling Plus magazine.

The only problem with the bike mount I was using, is that when the rain comes down, you’ve got to quickly get your iPhone into your pocket.

Tigra bike console iPhone 3gs and 3g mount showing the packagingAlong comes the Tigra Console iPhone bike mount and problem solved. Let’s take a closer look..

Tigra mount

The Tigra bike mount fits the iPhone 3G, the iPhone 3GS and the iPhone 4 and 4S.

Waterproof and secure

I’ve been testing out the mount for a few weeks now and in the rain it kept my iPhone completely dry. Big tick therefore, goes in the waterproof box.

Tigra iPhone bike mount in the rain

The other thing a bike mount holding a £400 iPhone in place needs, is to be very secure. Having tested it out for a few weeks, I would say this is the case. I’ve yet to take the Tigra Console iPhone bike mount out on a mountain bike trail. When I do I’ll update this post and let you know how it coped.

The key to keeping it securely in place is to make sure the mount has been properly installed and tightened. Also the iPhone has to be clipped in safely.

The Tigra iPhone bike mount gets two big ticks in those two boxes. There were however a few things I wasn’t so keen on.

Visibility and ease of use

Visibility of google maps on the bike mount

With the brightness set to low on the iPhone (to conserve battery) I found that the waterproof film made it a little hard to see the display during daylight. Turning up the brightness solved the problem. With a brighter iPhone 4 then this problem probably wouldn’t exist.

I wouldn’t say this was a deal breaker for the Tigra bike mount – more something to be aware of.

Side view of the tigra bike console

My other criticism of the Tigra Console iPhone bike mount is the sheer size of it. Therefore, if you are hoping to leave your bag at home then expect the mount to look very bulky in your pocket. You could of course leave in on the handlebars and remove the iPhone. I’m not sure if someone would steal this but I have seen the mounts left on a couple of bikes.

Overall, it’s a good iPhone bike mount. The Tigra Console passes with flying colours for being wateproof and secure but I’m a little disappointed by the visibility of the iPhone and the large size.

The mount can be purchased for £34.95.

What is good

  • Waterproof iPhone bike mount
  • From my tests so far the iPhone has been held securely in place
  • You can spin the iPhone around

What isn’t so good

  • A little bit more fiddly than would have liked to clip the iPhone in and out
  • The film that provides the waterproofing makes the screen a little harder to see
  • Very large mount that you can’t really shove in your pocket when you hop off the bike

The Tigra mount is now available from our eShop.

Big thank you to Mobile Fun for supplying the mount for this test. Mobile fun do a range of iPhone 4 accessories.

See more iPhone bike mounts and iPhone bike applications.

Join 9,241 fellow cyclists who are subscribed to the London Cyclist newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get...

  • Advice on the best cycling gear
  • A Friday roundup of all the latest London cycling news
  • Exclusive content not available on the blog

Subscribe today, and get exclusive access forever! (It's free)

*No spam, ever!

As seen on The Guardian, BBC and The Independent.

, ,

39 Responses to Tigra iPhone bike mount review

  1. Craig 23/02/2011 at 8:35 am #

    Not sure the way I ride trails I’d want an iphone on the handlebars of my bike. But useful to know that there is a good waterproof mount for leisure cycling having just been put in line for one. Trouble is of course it would be a work one and that would mean they would call when we were out :).

    Any idea why the iphone 4 version is twice the amount?

    • Andreas 23/02/2011 at 9:07 am #

      No idea Craig – guess the guys behind it decided to cash in on the iPhone 4 users? Or maybe there is a less sinister reason such as “economies of scale” not yet been reached. It’s true that I think under extreme mountain biking I’m not sure how well the bike mount would fare.

  2. Dave Escandell 23/02/2011 at 9:10 am #

    Very useful review as I’m looking at these at the moment.

    How would you say this fitted and looked on a set of drop bars? – as you say, it’s quite chunky and not clear if there will be roon for the phone mount and lights

    • Andreas 23/02/2011 at 9:29 am #

      It is definitely a clunky device however you should be able to fit it (guessing you’ve just got one light on the front?)

  3. Ben 23/02/2011 at 9:56 am #

    I would like to know if this makes it possible to use the iphone black box app that requires you film the road ahead as you ride. Surely that would mean a hole for the camera on the back, so I’m guessing not.

    Good review though, looks sturdy

    • Andreas 23/02/2011 at 10:03 am #

      Hi Ben – there is a hole in the back of the Tigra mount (covered with plastic film) so you can actually film the road ahead.

      • Ben 23/02/2011 at 10:16 am #

        oh cool, getting a reconditioned iphone3 next month so I shall probably buy one of these, kind of thought it’s a good deal to get one of these and use it as a helmet cam rather than buying a helmet cam particularily as I don’t wear a helmet.

  4. Philippe 23/02/2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Hi Andreas,

    Good and very useful review, as I was waiting your point-of-view before purchasing.

    • Andreas 23/02/2011 at 1:13 pm #

      Thanks Philippe – hope it was thorough enough!

  5. deadmanjones 23/02/2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Mounting a smart phone is a good way of recording your journey via free apps like google my tracks, or just to use it as satnav. I’ve also used it to record video, so it’s a cheap alternative to a helmet cam.

    For non-Apple people, personally I’ve found my HTC Hero sheathed in an aquapac will squeeze happily into a Herbert Richter handlebar mount.

    And, yes, “sheathed” is a very appropriate word when using an aquapac.

    Not having an iphone I don’t know, but I’ve been wondering whether the precorder app might be useful for cyclists who don’t want to record their entire journey but want to catch near misses etc..? http://www.airshipsoftware.com/precorder

  6. gutlessyogi 23/02/2011 at 1:47 pm #

    I use an HTC Desire and you can get dedicated mounts for it with the hole in the right place for the lens.
    The touch screen does not work with gloves; what do people do?
    Also, what apps have you been using with Android devices?

  7. gutlessyogi 23/02/2011 at 1:49 pm #

    meant to add, I use My Tracks which is great but the latest version stopped allowing uploads to Google My Maps and its more complicated to get the map onto google but it can be done.

  8. deadmanjones 23/02/2011 at 4:10 pm #

    It seems it doesn’t upload because the MyMaps API it used has been retired. However the mytracks people have worked out a workaround which should roll out in the next version

    • Andreas 23/02/2011 at 5:15 pm #

      The general workaround that most apps have added that were relying on Google Maps is to email yourself the KML file. You simply right click on the View in Google Earth link, copy it, paste it in the address bar and change the bit where it says output=nl change to output=kml. Then hit enter

  9. Nicole 23/02/2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I have this mount for my i-Phone which is great because it has a swivel mount so you can move it around. Have used it on a mountain bike and it’s currently secured to the stem of my road bike. Quick to mount and seems to do all handlebars.

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Amzer-Bicycle-Handlebar-Mount-iPhone/dp/B002LZUQY2/ref=sr_1_10?ie=UTF8&qid=1298478141&sr=8-10

    The clip at the top is really secure and allows you to film through the camera although it’s not waterproof. I just put the phone in a tight zip-lock bag and clip in.

    The only problem with all these gadgets is that they aren’t secure on the bike if you have to leave it anywhere. Sometimes I’ve got more sh*t in my bag than on the bike ‘cos I have to carry it all with me when I lock up….Knogs, i-Phone mounts, seat covers, more lights, panniers….

    • Andreas 23/02/2011 at 6:28 pm #

      I struggle with that at the mo Nicole too – once I arrive somewhere it’s lights off, iPhone unmounted, lock 1 on and then the second lock. By the time I’m done I feel exhausted!

  10. Kevin Campbell's Blog 24/02/2011 at 7:13 am #

    i would love something like this for my lg optimus android phone, any suggestions or ideas on how to go about this?

  11. Chris 24/02/2011 at 10:20 am #

    How do you guys find the battery life when using iPhones for satnav when on the bike?

    • Andreas 24/02/2011 at 10:33 am #

      Terrible! I use a Pebble as a spare battery. Helps to turn off 3G but that often means map is a little slow to download. Will suggest to guys that have the app to make the maps downloadable to speed things up.

  12. Nick 25/02/2011 at 4:26 pm #

    Thanks for the review, Andreas. I guess it wouldn’t be possible to have a Pebble in a handlebar bag with a lead through to the iPhone4 inside a Tigra mount.

  13. Shreds 25/02/2011 at 9:49 pm #

    I can usually get the best part of a day out of the iPhone 4 using it for sat nav use, but have to keep music off and it is not wise to be making too many calls. However so long as it is fully charged overnight, it is good and I use it for that everyday.

    Problem is the glove issue and locations out of phone range……particularly the remote ones, when you really need the map!

  14. Christiaan 27/02/2011 at 11:57 am #

    The two iPhone mounts I’ve been looking at are these:
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/topeak-iphone-drybag/
    Biologic Bike Mount

  15. Adrian 28/02/2011 at 9:58 am #

    Hi Andreas,

    I got one of these for Christmas, and it’s the best mount for an iphone 3G i’ve come across.

    The one word of warning I’d give is that it is not water proof. The packaging and marketing are very clear that it is “weather resistant”. I’ve had it out in some pretty constant drizzle, and whilst keeping the phone protected for my 45 minute ride, it certainly wasn’t dry. There was some water leakage, but not enough to cause a problem.

    I’ll keep using it rain or shine, but in a heavy downpour, the phone’s going in my bag.

  16. deadmanjones 28/02/2011 at 10:53 am #

    gutlessyogi and any other google my tracks users: an update is now available that brings export to my maps back. I just tested it with something simple

    http://goo.gl/maps/xHY2

    • gutlessyogi 28/02/2011 at 11:02 am #

      got it thanks deadman.\

  17. Nick 02/03/2011 at 8:36 pm #

    …. and if it was a showdown between the Dahon Biologic and the Tigra iPhone Mount, which would win?

  18. Cycle Assist 03/03/2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Hey great review. I think having good access to the iphone like this is great.

    Especially like the fact that you can turn it, and as some have mentioned here possibly film while you are riding as well.

    Hoping to get an iPhone this year, so I shall look into one of these!

    Tom

  19. Myles 14/03/2011 at 10:20 am #

    I have one of these, the 3GS version, although not a custom fit my iPhone 4 seems to fit fine.

    I don’t rate the mounting system though – on one ride I rode across a level crossing and the case detached itself from the mount and landed in the road – luckily my iPhone survived. For piece of mind I ditched the mounting system and retro-fitted a quick release mount from a cycle light – now all is well!!

    I use a ‘Just Mobile Gum Plus’ external battery for longer rides, I can use the standard iPhone charger lead – which means I can have it plugged in whilst the phone is still in the mount.

    The app I use is ‘Motion X GPS’ which allows you to pre-download maps so you can shut off 3G etc. to conserve battery life. Great app with superb customer support. It even allows you to track your mates locations in real time!

    Cheers
    Myles

  20. Sarah 07/05/2011 at 6:35 pm #

    I have the iPhone 4 version of this mounted on my drop handlebars. It fits fine, and doesn’t look bulky or out of place at all. My only problem with having it on drops is that you have to have the phone almost horizontal to be able to see it properly, which means the hole for the camera is almost pointless (unless you fancy filming the road the whole time!). Definitely recommended from me :)

    • Charles 19/06/2011 at 1:00 am #

      Hi, Sarah!
      I’m considering buying this mount for an iPhone 4 and since you use it maybe you could answer a question about it.
      See, I keep my iPhone in a case and I really don’t like to take if off. I managed to get running case that fits it with the case on but there’s a problem with the bike mounts. Do you think it would be possible to somehow fit the iPhone 4 with the case in this mount? It’s one of those Griffin quite thin ones, so it’s not that thick, it resembles a bumper actually.
      In some review I’ve seen the mount comes with removable rubber case that you put inside. Don’t if it’s true, but if it is, maybe you could remove it and then you could fit the iPhone with the case?
      Sorry for weird question and thanks for any suggestions ;)

  21. Kate 13/07/2011 at 8:58 am #

    Hi,

    I’m totally confused! I have been researching this now for the past few days. I’ve come up with three options – two of them being conflicting TIGRA products. TIGRA TECHNOLOGY, and another company TIGRA SPORT. From the picture of your product it looks like a TIGRA SPORT one.

    http://www.ibikeconsole.com/

    but on amazon the packaging is different.

    However, the TIGRA TECHNOLOGY product:

    http://www.tigratechnology.com/home.htm

    doesn’t look like yours but the packaging looks the same.

    Oh and then there is the third option I found:

    http://www.ultimate-mobiles.co.uk/

    which is a hard case for a mountain bike or motorcycle.

    I’m leaning towards the ULTIMATEADDONS product. The conflicting TIGRA stuff seems all too dodgy to me…..

    Your thoughts or confirmation would be appreciated.

    I’m ordering outside of the U.K. so returning the product wouldn’t be easy. So I really want to make sure I get the best thing. Waterproof, tough, won’t budge, quality case!

    Does your product say ‘TIGRA’ across the top? I don’t think so…. and does it have hinges on the left side?

    Thanks so much for your help!

    • Andreas 15/07/2011 at 1:23 pm #

      Hi there – the correct one is iBikeConsole not Tigra Technology. iBikeConsole is the original and trusted. Or the Ultimate Mobiles is good too (although not waterproof). I did a review of one of their Ultimate Addons mounts here:
      http://www.londoncyclist.co.uk/cycling-accessories/ultimatemobiles-iphone-bike-mount/

      Note: I’m going to start selling these soon through the site which should alleviate any confusion.

      • LIam 14/08/2011 at 11:38 pm #

        Hi – Ive been searching everywhere for the iBikeConsole version instead of the dodgy Tigra one, but cant find it anywhere apart from their site. Dont want to pay intl shipping. Any idea where I can get ibikeconsole in the UK? Thanks

  22. James 27/07/2012 at 8:26 am #

    Hi – i bought the Tigra Bike console, looks good, fitted easy to my mountain bike. I took the bike out yesterday, and when riding down a rough pot holed gravel track, the iPhone 4 turned off. It did it again later in the ride. When home i took the housing off, turned on the iPhone and shook it. The iphone tuned off. So i can only assume that the power button on top is being pushed when going fast down bouncy tracks. I then cut out some of the rubber around the power button, and re-tested, the iphone stayed on, so will try it out and about again… Has anybody else reported the same sort of thing, and same fix?

  23. werbung 17/09/2012 at 3:56 am #

    Good post. I will be dealing with a few of these issues as well.

    .

  24. Reg 25/01/2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Standard Tigra mount is too flimsy and unsafe. There is a heavy duty one available, a bit clunky but it does the job.

  25. Billy Stark 08/04/2013 at 9:24 pm #

    I bought this mount through your shop and really like it. I keep my phone in a slim case,but they would not allow the Tigra mount to close properly. This was disappointing as I like to keep my phone in a case for protection. I have managed to find a case which I can keep my phone in and also is slim enough to allow the Tigra mount to close completely. You can purchase it at amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00850FBLU/ref=oh_details_o04_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Thanks
    Billy

  26. Guillaume 11/09/2013 at 8:40 am #

    Great product… BUT ! Impossible to connect other audio headphones than Apple earpods : the hole to get the cable into the Tigra box is exactly adapted to the extreme smallness of the mini jack earpods of the iPhone 5. I bought Sennheiser-Adidas headphones, designed for sport, waterproof, and too bad for me. ;-) The solution should be a mini jack extension, but again, none has mini jack thin enough to fit in the hole.

Leave a Reply