Ergon Grips review

The GC2 Ergon Grips from a side view

Handlebar grips are often not given much thought. You just get a pair with your bike and get on with it.  That’s pretty much what I did for two years. Then I suddenly started noticing horrible black material on my hands and poor grip on the bike. I realised the handlebars were in dire need of replacement. I’d heard good things about the Ergon Grips so I thought I’d try them out.

The benefit of the Ergon Grips is that they’re kinder to your hands and wrists. This is because they’ve got a bigger surface area to fit your hand. They are “anatomically” designed. Meaning they fit your body better than standard grips. I definitely can’t go as far as saying the design by Ergon is revolutionary because this style of grips has been created before. It’s just that Ergon have branded it and done it better than anyone else.

The Ergon Grips that I tried are the GC2. There are 5 different grips in the Ergon Performance Comfort range. The GC2 Ergon Grips have a short bar end. You can choose between a small and a large version. Most people will be better off with the small. Though, if you wear extra large gloves then you may want to consider the large Ergon Grip version.

Installation

Installation was fairly simple as I demonstrated in the replacing handlebar grips video a couple of weeks ago. Within about 5 minutes I was good to go. What it does need after this initial quick setup is for a bit more tweaking after a few rides. This will allow you to set your optimal position for the grips otherwise they can feel uncomfortable.

Ergon grips from overhead view

First ride with the Ergon GC2 grips

Trying the Ergon Grips out for the first time they instantly feel more solid than most standard grips that are supplied with bikes. You feel like you have better control of over the handlebars. There is also definitely a comfort gain from having more of a grip to lean against. The material itself is well designed so as not to slip. Even riding in severely rainy conditions I didn’t have an issue. The real benefit of the grips is after you go out on a long ride you’ll notice your hands are free of any aches and pains.

What I liked about the Ergon Grips

  • Clever design that better serves a cyclists hands
  • Does away with the aches and pains
  • Easy installation that anyone can do
  • Great look

What I didn’t like about the Ergon Grips

  • I’m not a big fan of having bar end that stick out
  • If you don’t adjust them correctly they will feel uncomfortable

Ergon Grips Review

Overall I’m a convert to the Ergon Grips and I would highly recommend them to fellow cyclists. Next time I would probably opt for the version without the sticking out bar ends as I find them a little unnecessary. If you’re looking to upgrade your bike then look no further than your handlebars.

Prices

Buy ergon grips at Wiggle Buy Ergon Grips at Chain Reaction Buy Wiggle Grips at Evans  

£32.99

£32.99

£32.99

 

See also:

Join 9,241 fellow cyclists who are subscribed to the London Cyclist newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get...

  • Advice on the best cycling gear
  • A Friday roundup of all the latest London cycling news
  • Exclusive content not available on the blog

Subscribe today, and get exclusive access forever! (It's free)

*No spam, ever!

As seen on The Guardian, BBC and The Independent.

, ,

15 Responses to Ergon Grips review

  1. John 21/10/2010 at 10:46 am #

    Good to know they are not just a gimmick, The ache in your palm on a longer ride can be a nuisance on times and I have to go along with you on not liking bar ends, but as I am a great fan of a bar end mirror that makes bar ends a non starter for me anyway!

  2. Filippo Negroni 21/10/2010 at 11:33 am #

    I am a fan of bar ends, especially on flat barred bikes.

    I would rather have drop bars on my hybrid, as they are far more comfortable. The bar ends help me maintain a more natural position, with palms facing each other instead of facing down.

    What flat bars provide is better control in urban conditions where performing ‘manuals’ might be necessary and where extra stopping power might be required as they allow better grip on the brake levers.

    I found that the GC2 grips were uncomfortable for a couple of hundred miles after fitting, since my wrists and hands were used to the thinner Specialized XC lock-on grips I had before.

    I also noticed that Gel-type gloves don’t agree with my hands at all, and especially with the Ergon grips. I have since removed the gel padding from all my gloves, and will only buy gel-less gloves in the future.

    That was surprising to me too, since I have two gel saddles (Selle Italia C2 on the commuter, Selle Italia Flite on my racer) and they feel very comfortable and provide additional support.

    • Andy R 21/10/2010 at 1:09 pm #

      It is possible to get drop-bar ends
      http://www.sjscycles.co.uk/origin8-pro-pulsion-road-ends-drop-bar-bar-ends-black-prod18606/?src=froogle
      Perhaps this is the best of both?!

      • Filippo Negroni 21/10/2010 at 1:19 pm #

        I have a few doubts about them:

        1) A drop bar would be narrower. I would have to cut the flat bar down to match the width of the drop bar I want

        2) The geometry of my hybrid is that of a MTB: the steerer tube is too far forward and reach would be too stretched. If I place my racer and my hybrid next to each other, the hoods on my racer are level with the grips on my hybrid: if I were to fit drops on my hybrid, it would stretch the reach too far. Even a shorter stem would not fix that.

        My next commuter is likely to be a road touring bike, and I will relegate the current one for off-road touring and towing duties.

  3. Andy R 21/10/2010 at 12:47 pm #

    http://www.evanscycles.com/products/specialized/bg-ergo-lock-grip-ec021313

    I use these, a lot cheaper, and they don’t have the bar ends on – Andreas, maybe these are your dream grips!

    I do actually use bar ends, and the ones on the Ergon grips look too short for me – I have them sticking straight forward, and have taped them. They provide a good hold in a slightly more race style perhaps, as they lower the torso a bit, being further forward.

  4. Martin 21/10/2010 at 4:33 pm #

    I’ve had Ergon grips on my ‘day to day’ bike for about 3 years and I love them. I like the bar ends as they provide an alternative hand position. They were too wide for my handlebars so I cut off about 1/2″ before fitting them with no problems.

  5. Daren 22/10/2010 at 7:11 pm #

    I have ridden with the GR1′s for over a year. They are so comfortable I think they make bar ends redundant. You didn’t say, but they come in TWO sizes. Unless you have huge hands, buy the small (I have both and small hands, small fit much better). One final point, I installed mine so that they point backwards and up by about 30 degrees. In your picture they look almost level and I suspect you could derive additional benefit from taking weight off your wrists.

  6. Jonathan 22/10/2010 at 7:13 pm #

    I fitted these last weekend to my commute bike and I love them. Simple to install (your video was the inspiration) and much more comfortable. I have not had any aches since I fitted them for my 20 miles a day of commuting. I am a real advocate, plus I think they look pretty cool too.

  7. Ben 07/11/2010 at 10:13 pm #

    chucked mine after an indecisive red light crossing pedestrian caught her handbag on my grips and dragged me off my bike. Not a fan since then funnily enough. But if you like hooking pedestrians go for it

  8. Aq 13/11/2010 at 10:16 pm #

    :-)
    Sorry Ben but cant help laughing, how on earth did that happen??
    You werent by any chance committing that bikers infraction of not stopping completely or at all at the red lights.

    That must of been one hell of a bag!!

  9. Ben 14/11/2010 at 6:27 pm #

    The stupid bint was walking across a red man as I turned left (on green) into the road that waterloo station is on by that bookshop on the corner, she stopped, rabbit in headlights, I slowed down but proceeded, then she decided to go forth at which time I got tangled in her fashionably large handbag. disentangled then wobbled onto the pavement at enough speed for some bruising. Bitch! Ever since then if I ever feel I am going to hit a pedestrian I point myself well behind them, never in front, and haven’t had a crash since.

  10. Kevin Campbell's Blog 14/02/2011 at 8:22 am #

    do grip shift compatible versions of these exist, with no bar ends, for my girlfriend, she wants some super comfortable grips

  11. idavid 26/03/2011 at 2:34 pm #

    I bought a pair on your recommendation. Quality product, German of course. And dead easy to fit.

    Comfortable so far, and nice to have the extra position, but surprised the bar ends are metal; compared with the rubber ones on my Specialized they are heavy, cold, and will soon scratch.

  12. Bikes 29/03/2011 at 4:43 am #

    Thank you for the recommendation. Very comfortable and strong grips. although the price a bit expensive for me

  13. Richard Todd 27/05/2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Right, to answer the questions:

    Firstly, we do offer the grips with no bar-ends. These are called the GP1. Ben, my experience with bar ends is if something attaches to them enough to pull you off the bike, chances are it would have caught the bar anyway without the bar ends.

    Secondly, I agree. The size large are for huge hands. I take a size L glove and am happiest on size S Ergons.

    Thirdly, it is possible to use a bar end mirror with the GC2 and GP1 grips (and the GS1 and GX1 which are lightweight versions).

    I hope this helps.

    Richard @ Ergon.

Leave a Reply