DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket Review

Side view of the DHB Sync Jacket

Provoked by the hosepipe ban, in the past 30 days we’ve seen the skies opening and unleashing their rainy fury on London’s cyclists. In response, I’ve been testing out the DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket (59.99 Wiggle). The ultimate solution for the worst weather that can be thrown at a cyclist.

Let’s get one thing clear, I’ve always been a fan of the DHB range. In my own testing experience, it often outperforms more expensive products. The DHB Sync Jacket adds one very crucial element that I’ve found makes a big difference when compared to similar jackets. A hood.

You may think riding around with a hood sounds a little precarious. There’s obviously a DHB designer somewhere that agrees with you. Most of their range so far has been hood free. Fortunately, now that the decision has been made to include one – I’m wondering why I didn’t get a hooded jacket sooner.

As the rain lashes down not only do you avoid getting rain running down the back of your neck but you also keep rain out of your face thanks to the peaked front. This makes you feel invisible against the rain.

DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket close up of neck

Adjustable straps around the neck

The downside with a hood is you lose some of your peripheral vision. The DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket is designed to combat that by offering a tight fit so that you can customise the position. In practise you do still lose some of your field of vision around the edges which isn’t ideal. However, I’ve not found this to be a hindrance on the road.

Waterproofing

Moving beyond the peaked hood, the material used in the jacket provides excellent waterproofing. Even during prolonged exposure. This is definitely a waterproof as opposed to water resistant jacket. As such, you’ll never have any downpours to worry about.

Also protecting you against the rain is the longer cut at the back with the adjustable elastic cord waist which means the jacket can be tightened to prevent it riding up your back.

DHB Sync jacket view of arms

Pockets and looks

The DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket comes with two zipped front pockets along with a chest pocket. All three of which are really useful and also keep the contents placed inside waterproof. I tend to keep my iPhone in the breast pocket which makes it quick to access if I need to pull to the side of the road to check directions.

As the jacket has minimum branding it looks good off the bike too. This is great for when you don’t want to look like a cyclist when you’ve reached your destination. It also means the jacket can be used on a daily basis. (Though hopefully it won’t need to be!)

Comfortable but warm

The cut of the jacket has clearly been well thought out. Even when leaning down on the handlebars with a messenger bag strapped to my back everything felt very comfortable.

However, it must be noted that you will get warm in the DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket. The two under arm vents help but there’s only so much they can do. Perhaps if Gore-Tex material was used then this jacket would be offer superior breathability. In practise, I’m happy to trade off getting a little warm for the advantage of staying completely dry.

Review

Overall, I’m going to give the DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket 4 and a half stars out of 5 for this review. For staying dry, I’ve yet to test a more effective jacket. The only area where there’s room for improvement is to add additional breathability. At £59.99 this is a great buy.

Buy the DHB Sync Male Version – or - Buy the DHB Sync Ladies Version

DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket gets 4.5 out of 5 in our review

The most waterproof jacket we’ve ever tested.
DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket
Date published: 05/09/2012
4.5 / 5 stars

 

Join 9,241 fellow cyclists who are subscribed to the London Cyclist newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get...

  • Advice on the best cycling gear
  • A Friday roundup of all the latest London cycling news
  • Exclusive content not available on the blog

Subscribe today, and get exclusive access forever! (It's free)

*No spam, ever!

As seen on The Guardian, BBC and The Independent.

, , ,

14 Responses to DHB Sync Waterproof Jacket Review

  1. Hop 10/05/2012 at 11:01 am #

    Any chance of a picture showing you trying to look over your shoulder as if doing a right-hand-turn – can you really see behind you properly with the hood up? How does the hood feel when it’s under a helmet (regardless of your personal opinions on helmet wearing, many people do wear them & they might be curious) – and, again, how does it allow you to do a safe right-hand-turn? Thanks.

    • Andreas 10/05/2012 at 11:11 am #

      All good questions Hop. I’ll answer the helmet one first: This jacket is definitely best for those who cycle without a helmet. It is certainly possible to put a helmet on top but it doesn’t feel that comfortable and you will need to adjust your helmet straps to make it a little less tight. In terms of vision lost due to the hood, I’ve personally been fine to check behind me but you definitely lose a bit of visibility and probably need to spend more time to do a check behind you than you would without any hood. As I say, personally I’m not affected but others may feel differently. Only thing I can suggest: Wiggle have a good returns policy so if you try it out and it doesn’t work for you, send it back.

      • Hop 10/05/2012 at 11:16 am #

        Thanks Andreas

  2. Richard 11/05/2012 at 10:46 am #

    I have just snapped up this jacket this week from Wiggle so its good to see a review. I agree, this is very waterproof. Main reasons I went for it was for the hood which I find a good fit. I am a cycle tourer/commuter and enjoy hill walking so this is ideal for both worlds. Agree – could be worn anywhere without shouting cyclist and I see it fast becoming my wet weather everyday jacket.

    Andreas, do you know if dhb offer Sync trousers? If they do not then they should certainly produce them!

    • Andreas 11/05/2012 at 11:38 am #

      They do offer a pair of waterproof trousers which my flat mate has. He’s always seemed quite pleased with them.

      • Richard 11/05/2012 at 11:46 am #

        I see they have several models of over trousers – I have the Signal ones. Just wondering about the Sync ones i.e. the same rugged material – can’t find a mention of them on Wiggle so have emailed Wiggle to find out if they plan to produce them.

  3. Goonz 11/05/2012 at 11:11 am #

    I have a Campagnolo Raytech jacket which is waterproof but rather than let water in it makes me sweat so much that it would probably be better if the rain water just seeped through!

    Is there seriously no balance between the two? A waterproof jacket than can keep you cool?

    How about just wearing a waterproof t-shirt? Do these even exist? A friend bought an Oakley waterproof golfing shirt and jacket and claims they are totally waterproof. The jacket was far too warm when he went golfing so would not be suitable for a cyclist but perhaps the short sleeved shirt could be?

    Without going for Gore-tex seeing as its so expensive is there any other way of staying dry and cool? Does not seem that way, and I am slowly leaning towards just forking out for some Gore clothing…

    • Andreas 11/05/2012 at 11:43 am #

      Think it’s always a trade off between waterproofing and breathability. Perhaps someone can comment on the Gore-Tex gear as I’ve got limited experience.

      • Meadowend 11/05/2012 at 12:21 pm #

        Breathability depends on differential vapour pressure on either side of the material. So a breathable jacket can be very effective if it’s dry and warm outside – the moisture on the inside will diffuse through to the outside.

        However when it’s very humid, or p**sing down, the outside vapour pressure is likely to be similar to the inside, and so no diffusion occurs – so you get almost as wet from the inside as you would if you didn’t wear a jacket – which given that I start perspiring if I think about exercise, let alone do any, is my normal situation!

        Great (if detailed) explanation of breathability: http://www.ukclimbing.com/articles/page.php?id=4556

        • Andreas 14/05/2012 at 7:41 pm #

          Thanks for the link – having a read through. Always wanted to figure out more about breathability.

  4. Evgeniy 17/08/2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Hello!
    I am from Russia. I want to buy this jacket. I’m skinny and my height is 178 cm, Andreas, what is your jacket size? S or XS? What is your height? How long sleeve jacket?

    • Richard 17/08/2012 at 8:26 pm #

      Evgenly Hi! As you are a similar size to me (I am 175cm tall, and 71 kg) I think the medium would be good. I find that the medium is a slim fit (good to prevent wind-flap!). The arms are good – a little long but when on the bike reaching for the handlebars they are perfect. Even if you are ‘skinny’ as you say its good to have a little room for extra layers of clothing. I would suggest a medium. Hope that helps! Regards.

  5. Evgeniy 18/08/2012 at 7:30 pm #

    Thank you Richard!
    And somebody with the growth of 178 what size jacket bought?

  6. Nelson 13/10/2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Hi Andreas,

    Is the hood removable? If not, is it comfortable to ride without having it on?

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply