Topeak Race Rocket review

Topeak Race Rocket in different colours

I’m unsure if Topeak are trying to go down some kind of iPod style marketing route with their Topeak Race Rocket colours but I think it works really well. The Topeak is in some ways the iPod of the Mini Pump world.

Measuring just 19cm long this is the perfect little pump to pop into your saddle bag or pocket (Is that a pump in your pocket?). Whilst it might weight next to nothing and take up hardly any space it doesn’t fall short on performance. The makers claim it can blast up to 140psi into tyres. In tests I wasn’t able to quite reach that level without my arm falling off but none the less I was incredibly impressed. Compared to most mini-pumps it not only reaches a higher pressure but also does so more quickly. What this means is less time stood by the side of the road pumping air into your bike.

Topeak Race Rocket next to my bike tyres

The Topeak Race Rocket is adjustable to accommodate both Presta and Schrader valves so all bikes are covered. It also comes with an “extendable hose” which means better comfort when pumping your tyres and less chance of too much pressure been placed on the valve stem which can cause it to break. The Topeak also comes with a bracket so you can attach it to your bike.

Overall, it’s a package I can’t fault. The best part is the price. If you buy it from Wiggle you can get it for as little as £22.49. I think this is pretty incredible value considering some of the pumps I’ve bought in the past and not been nearly as impressed with them. Overall a fantastic pump that I highly recommend.

Prices of the Topeak Race Rocket

wiggle-online-logo[6] chain-reaction-logo evans-cycles-logo amazon-logo[5]

£22.49

£22.99

£24.99

£26.99

What I liked

  • Hardly takes up any space in my bag
  • Very lightweight construction
  • Pumps up tyres quickly and to a high pressure

What I didn’t like

  • Not getting one sooner!

5 star rating for the Topeak

See also:

Join 9,241 fellow cyclists who are subscribed to the London Cyclist newsletter

Sign up for our free newsletter to get...

  • Advice on the best cycling gear
  • A Friday roundup of all the latest London cycling news
  • Exclusive content not available on the blog

Subscribe today, and get exclusive access forever! (It's free)

*No spam, ever!

As seen on The Guardian, BBC and The Independent.

, ,

16 Responses to Topeak Race Rocket review

  1. Philip 18/08/2010 at 10:18 am #

    That is cool. Especially like the rubber grip, which my Specialized mini doesn’t have. The hose is something you rarely see on minis. Great add-on as the position in use without is very inflexible. Topeak produce some fine kit. I have one of their mini-tools, and a digital tyre-pressure gauge. It’s a pity mini pumps rarely have gauges fitted. I have a really old, cheap one which does, and it makes things much easier.

  2. Dani riot 18/08/2010 at 10:48 am #

    This pump looks ace.

    Great timing for this review as a pump is my next purchase.

    London cyclist saves the day again.

    • Andreas 23/08/2010 at 5:05 pm #

      Cheers buddy! Happy to recommend the Topeak as it’s a damn good pump!

  3. Filippo Negroni 18/08/2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I have a Topeak minipump with gauge, and I struggle to get my race tyres up to the recommended 110PSI. At 70PSI my arms start to ache.

    It’s good on wide profile MTB tyres, where 30PSI will get you home.

    I would instead recommend investing in a dual pump: CO2 canister + hand pump. Innovations makes one.

    A 16g canister can inflate a 700x23C tyre to 120PSI in a few seconds. Well worth the investment.

    • Philip 18/08/2010 at 5:18 pm #

      … Filippo — I should have mentioned in my comment that I ride a Brompton, so only have to achieve pressures of 70/80 psi, which I have to admit is about my limit with a mini hand pump!

      • Andreas 23/08/2010 at 5:06 pm #

        Agree that it is very difficult to reach high inflation with Hand Pump. Hence need for floor pump. Again Topeak do a good one. Personally not big fan of the canisters though can see their appeal.

  4. Dani Riot 18/08/2010 at 6:15 pm #

    next, can we have a review on cycling rucksacks that have good back ventilation? ;)

    • Philip 19/08/2010 at 10:14 am #

      … Dani — I have a Deuter Speed Lite 20 litre. Extremely lightweight with excellent back ventillation. Never bought Deuter before (they are German), but saw they were very popular with other cyclists. (My other bag is a Chrome Utility Vega musette which I absolutely love).

      • Dani Riot 19/08/2010 at 10:20 am #

        Thanks philip. I was looking at some Deuter’s in Evans yesterday. I was looking for a users opinion so thankyou

        have to start saving the pennies.

        • Andreas 23/08/2010 at 5:07 pm #

          Will look into packs! The Wiggle one looks interesting though last time I checked they were out of stock.. time to chase them up again!

  5. tim 19/08/2010 at 9:41 am #

    does it get hot?

  6. Steff Davies 20/08/2010 at 12:37 pm #

    I have a Topeak Morph Road which is a little larger (longer) but still tiny. It solves the high pressure problem by being essentially a very tiny track pump. Highly recommended.

  7. Nigel 23/08/2010 at 10:15 pm #

    I have the Lezyne Micro Floor Drive HVG and I have my Brompton Tyres at 100 psi. I’ve tried quite a few of the smaller pumps like the Topeak Race Rocket here. I do find them hard work. At least with the Lezyne Micro Floor Drive HVG you have a decent sized pump handle to grasp and it doesn’t pinch your fingers when you bottom out the pump as many of the smaller types do. Also there’s a small wire frame that folds out so you can put your foot on it and really give it some power. It also has an inline pressure gauge – a great piece of design actually. The photo on the Web site doesn’t really show the scale of size. It looks big but the video demo gives you the scale and shows how small it is.

    • Philip 24/08/2010 at 12:17 pm #

      … Nigel — Wow! 100 psi. Is there a noticeable ride difference at that pressure? What tyres do you have? (I have the Schwalbe Marathon).

  8. sofarider 13/02/2011 at 12:03 am #

    I have this topeak race rocket pump and have to admit I’m very impressed with it. Use it for mountain biking and I’ve changed quite a few tires already. Quite fast inflation and positive stroke action given the size and will inflate a large volume mtb tire till about 50/60 psi with relative ease (enough to pop it so that it sits even on the rim). It’s so light that I keep it attached to the frame of my trek fuel ex8 all the time. Recommended.

Leave a Reply